The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel)

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

Experience the thrilling origins of the Hunger Games saga in The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes. Dive into the complex world of Panem as you follow the ambitious Coriolanus Snow on his journey from mentor to malevolent President Snow. Uncover the secrets, power struggles, and moral dilemmas that shape the captivating prequel, filled with twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Suzanne Collins weaves a tale of power, survival, and the blurred lines between hero and villain in this must-read addition to the Hunger Games series.

Book Title: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

Author:  Suzanne Collins

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Scholastic Press; First Edition (May 19, 2020)

Category: Nobel

Language ‏ : ‎ English

Reading age ‏ : ‎12 years and up

ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1338635174

Book Details:

The Ballad of Songbirds and SnakesThe Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes is a novel written by Suzanne Collins. It serves as a prequel to the popular “Hunger Games” trilogy, exploring the origins of the dystopian society known as Panem and providing insights into the events leading up to the Hunger Games.

The book is set in the Capitol of Panem, approximately 64 years before the events of the original trilogy. It focuses on the character of Coriolanus Snow, who later becomes President Snow, the antagonist of the original series. The story follows a young Snow as he navigates the Capitol’s prestigious Academy and gets assigned as a mentor for the 10th Hunger Games.

In the novel, Coriolanus Snow is paired with a tribute named Lucy Gray Baird from District 12. As the mentor, Snow must help Lucy Gray navigate the brutal Hunger Games arena and strive to win. Throughout the story, Snow’s ambitions and desires for power begin to take shape, revealing the motivations behind his later actions as the ruler of Panem.

“The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” delves into the complex relationships, political machinations, and moral dilemmas within the Hunger Games universe. It provides readers with a deeper understanding of the origins of the Capitol’s oppressive regime and the development of the Hunger Games as a means of control and entertainment.

Suzanne Collins’ prequel offers a fresh perspective on the events leading up to the Hunger Games trilogy, shedding light on the character of President Snow and the world of Panem. It explores themes of power, manipulation, and the human capacity for both cruelty and compassion.

 Author Information

suzanne collins

Source: Jon Kopaloff/FilmMagic

Suzanne Collins is an American author known for her popular young adult dystopian series, “The Hunger Games.” Born on August 10, 1962, in Hartford, Connecticut, Collins began her career writing for children’s television shows, including “Clarissa Explains It All” and “The Mystery Files of Shelby Woo.”

Her breakthrough came with the publication of “The Hunger Games” in 2008, which quickly gained international success and acclaim. The series, consisting of three books, “The Hunger Games,” “Catching Fire,” and “Mockingjay,” follows the story of Katniss Everdeen in a post-apocalyptic world where children are forced to participate in a televised fight to the death known as the Hunger Games.


  • What is the 5th Hunger Games book about?

Answer: The 5th Hunger Games book, “Mockingjay,” continues the story of Katniss Everdeen as she becomes the symbol of a rebellion against the oppressive Capitol. She navigates through the dangers of war, political manipulation, and personal loss, ultimately playing a pivotal role in the downfall of the Capitol and the establishment of a new government in Panem.

  • Can I read The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes before The Hunger Games?

Answer: Yes, you can technically read “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” before “The Hunger Games” trilogy, but it’s generally recommended to read the original trilogy first. “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” is a prequel to “The Hunger Games” and provides background information about the early years of Panem, the creation of the Hunger Games, and the origins of some characters. Reading the original trilogy first will give you a better understanding of the world and events referenced in the prequel, enhancing your overall reading experience.
  •  In What order should I read Hunger Games?

Answer: To read  The Hunger Games  series in the correct order, you should follow this sequence:

  1. “The Hunger Games” (Book 1)
  2. “Catching Fire” (Book 2)
  3. “Mockingjay” (Book 3)

This order allows you to experience the story in its intended progression, following the main character, Katniss Everdeen, as she navigates the dystopian world of Panem and participates in the Hunger Games. Once you have completed the original trilogy, you can then choose to read “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes,” which serves as a prequel to the events of the trilogy.


Download Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *